Sunday, 18 September 2016

See How They Run: Convincingly Evil




See How They Run by Tom Bale is what happens when regular folks get mixed up with a network of criminals so vicious, they wouldn’t think twice of committing a violent act if it suits their needs (or save their necks).

Who would want to be in this kind of predicament? No one!

But Harry and Alice French find themselves in such a sticky situation and they take the reader along with them. Just imagine the stress and exhaustion of being thrown into a bloody mess.

Oh, by the way, there’s a baby tagging along.

Crazy, huh?

Though Harry and Alice are characters you’d easily empathise with, it’s the wicked bad guys that shine through. They are all convincingly evil! They are the kind of people you pray you don’t cross paths with in your lifetime.

Although this a gripping story with non-stop action (physical and emotional), I feel that the writer held back on the resolution. It went to “safe” territory after treating the reader to one shocking event to another.


Overall, See How They Run is a proper thriller that exhausts you into surrender. Don’t fight it.  ★★★ 4/5  


*Review copy provided by publisher Bookouture through NetGalley.

Thursday, 18 August 2016

The Teacher: Gruesomely Dark





Even before I flipped to the first chapter, I already sensed that the story is going to be very dark, but I wasn’t prepared at how gruesomely dark the story is.

At one point, I actually flinched when the author described the last moments of this one poor, poor character. Was it over the top? Perhaps. Did the character deserve it? Perhaps not. But my theory is that the graphic depiction was used to justify whatever was to come (dun-dun-duuun!). This effectively puts the reader in an ethical and moral quandary (that is if you’re like me who gets too involved in stories like this).

What’s great is that even DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles are in that same predicament. So yeah, we’re all in the same boat.

Although, it’s easy to get hooked, there’s a lot of jumping around between story arcs, timelines, and characters. If you have short-term memory, it can be challenging. (Sorry, Dory, this isn’t for you).



The next hurdle is figuring out who the main characters are. With so many subplots, it’s not unusual to favour one over another and same goes with the characters. So, in my mind, the main characters are those that stand out because their stories are more fleshed out than the others.

Readers might be put off by this but I’m actually on board this “chaotic” non-linear storytelling. What’s important to me is if the author can tie up loose ends and deliver that “payoff”. Done and done.

And when the bad guys are extremely bad, you’d appreciate how things have turned out. ★★★ 4/5  

Here's my attempt at stop motion.




Review copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley.com

Thursday, 23 June 2016

Live For This: Unbreaking the Broken



I didn’t plan on reading Live For This by Kathryn Biel because in my mind, it’s one of those stories that will make me feel miserable after reading. Surely, a man with a broken body and woman with a shattered soul is a downright depressing combination, yeah?

Well, guess what? It’s not that at all. I didn’t feel like the world is crashing down on me. There’s no feeling of heaviness or misery or grief. Nothing of that sort.

This is superbly written. It’s hitting the right notes. The jokes are landing. The drama bits are heart-rending and just tug at this ninja’s heartstrings.

Perhaps the only problem here is that it has similarities to Jojo Moyes’ “Me Before You”. Now, I don’t know if this was inspired by the book or the similar events are just mere coincidences. It might bother some readers, but it does not bother me all that much because there is a clear divergence in storyline.

This is not a story that’s just written for the sake of eliciting strong emotions. It not only sends a message of hope, but also the acceptance of hard realities.

Two words: Read this.   ★★★ 5/5

Tuesday, 7 June 2016

The Missing: A Turmoil in the Family



Claire is pushed to the brink when her son Billy went missing. Though there’s hope that Billy is still alive, the fear and the uncertainty are enough to drive Claire into “madness”. She goes through frightening psychological episodes that had physical manifestations. That part of the story is brilliantly depicted with great emotional impact. 

The writing is somber and the story, while understandably a psychological thriller, is rather short on thrills. But it’s because The Missing by C.L. Taylor is more of a family drama than a straight up crime thriller. Despite this, the author is able to deliver an engaging story of a family crippled by secrets and deception. 

I wouldn’t say the story is predictable, but this is one of the rare times I was able to guess an integral twist of the story before it was revealed.


Despite the lack of thrills, I thought the characters are well developed and readers can easily sympathize with them.  ★★★ 4/5

Monday, 6 June 2016

A Perilous Thirst: Vampirically Good



All right. So, I just had a conversation with a gay vampire, a very intelligent one, I might add. It was an honest conversation, but of course, he was doing all the talking and I was this captive audience. He was so open and candid about his life as a vampire in the time of AIDS epidemic. Even with his charm and confidence, I sensed his fear. It was real. With a vivid recounting of his conquests, he revealed a part of him that’s almost human.

A Perilous Thirst is a vampirically good short story that makes you feel that you’re actually there listening to an intriguing vampire character.


I don’t even know his name.  ★★★ 4/5

Saturday, 4 June 2016

Escape From Zandell: Something Ominous Lurks



In fantasy stories, Book #0 is usually the big set up with an even bigger cliffhanger; the characters are introduced and the fantasy world is established. Escape from Zandell by Dale Furse has managed to do that, but it was a bit of a confusing set up and it’s a challenge to keep up with the characters early on. But once you get to the second act, things start to make sense and you begin to understand the characters and their respective motivations just a little bit (there are still questions though). 

One problem here is that it’s not clear (at least not to me) who the real main character is. It seems to shift depending on the circumstance. But 
I like that there’s always this feeling that something ominous is lurking and any second, some character will die or will be in grave danger. It’s that kind of storytelling that piques my interest. Surely, it’s worth following the series, in the hope that this is just the start of something epic to come.  ★★★ 4/5

Sunday, 24 April 2016

Boston Metaphysical Society PRELUDE: Top-notch Steampunk!





Boston Metaphysical Society: PRELUDE is a collection of short stories that have very important links to the Boston Metaphysical Society web comics. Written by Madeleine Holly-Rosing, Prelude is a cross between an origin story and a supplementary reading that makes the Boston Metaphysical Society universe far more intriguing.

The alternate history of Boston Metaphysical Society is every bit entertaining. Ghosts, demons, supernatural beings and prominent Families that vie for ultimate economic and political control – what’s not to like?

It's a rarity to like every story in a collection, but I love them all - all seven of them. While it’s not really a requirement to read the web comics series, I would have to say that the impact of the short stories would be more pronounced if the reader has read the Boston Metaphysical Society comics. The secrets and revelations in the stories have a greater impact if one is familiar with the alternate world so cleverly created. 

While this is primarily a steampunk collection, it crosses genres that make the whole of Boston Metaphysical Society greater than the sum of its parts.   ★★★ 5/5

Friday, 1 April 2016

10 Reasons Why You Should Read “The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows"



Third book in the series. Tough to review but early reviewers have already raved about it here, here, here, and here

Not that you need more convincing, but instead of a review, I'm giving you my Top 10 reasons why you should read "The Girl Who Walked in the Shadows" by Marnie Riches.

1.   Confident writing. So confident it can be brutal. You know, the in-your-face kind of brutal that leaves a black eye in the morning. Get some ice.

2.   Bursting at the seams with fascinating and flawed characters:  from the morally ambiguous to the sordidly immoral to the sexually fluid to the emotionally crippled. (The author could be talking about my family, but I digress.)

3.  Unrelenting suspense. So tense that you might find your heart fibrillating. Okay, that may be a tad too much, but it can happen, yes?

4.   Reading it is like assembling the most difficult jigsaw puzzle while playing “Where’s Wally”. (And since this is an international crime thriller, that would be “Waldo” in the US, “Charlie” in France, “Walter” in Germany, “Willy” in Norway…)





5.   Icicle of death. A very handy murder weapon during an arctic freeze. Cold, cruel, and best of all, untraceable. Plausible? Well, if Roald Dahl can use a big frozen leg of lamb to bludgeon someone in his short story, why can’t Marnie Riches use deadly sharp icicles in her crime fiction?



6.   Funny bits are really funny. Sure, the book is dark and gritty 90% of the time, but the author delivers funny lines when you need them the most.

7.   Moral and ethical dilemmas. There’s plenty of that in the book. It challenges you. It makes you question your own moral sensibilities.

8.   Extremely cunning criminals. It makes you genuinely worry for George’s safety and everyone else involved with her.


9. The George-Paul Dynamics. One minute tender, the next minute combustible. Problems seem to resolve themselves between the sheets. Not that I’m complaining.

10.       An ending you won’t see coming.  




*Review copy provided by the publisher through NetGalley.




Thursday, 17 March 2016

TIME TO DIE: Frighteningly Devilish




Time To Die by Caroline Mitchell is a chilling read with an interesting cast of characters whose lives intersect; but not always in the best of situations.

I personally like my crime/mystery thriller to be as close to reality as possible. Injecting a paranormal and supernatural twist makes it a little tricky because it could blur the line between what is plausible and what is not. And it’s a question of whether you’re willing to go on board or not.

Well, I’m on board and completely gripped!

DC Jennifer Knight and a team of specialists with extraordinary skills set out to catch a killer who may or may not have supernatural abilities. Given how elusive he is, he could very well be a mystical creature who commits the most unthinkable crimes.

I am impressed at the character dynamics and interaction of the Moonlight Operation squad and fascinated at how they handled the investigation.


This is a brilliantly executed crime thriller with a remarkable main character and an unforgettable villain. ★★★ 5/5


Review copy provided by Bookouture through NetGalley.

Tuesday, 8 March 2016

FOLLOW ME: When Twitter Kills




LIKE. SHARE. FOLLOW . . . DIE    

How can you resist such a killer tagline?

There’s a disturbance in Twitterverse and the person goes by the name @Apollyon. A faceless and seemingly harmless entity has gained notoriety when the “Following” count becomes a tally of victims. The elusive suspect becomes a viral twitter sensation  the police scramble to identify, but fail miserably.

Enter Freddie Venton, the spunky but down on her luck wannabe journalist who’s been waiting for the right break to come. The opportunity presents itself when she reconnects (fortuitously) with an old friend Nasreen Cudmore, now a police officer.

Using an underhanded tactic, Freddie gets to her first crime scene and becomes involved in it when the police hires her as a consultant because of her social media “expertise”.

While this is an entertaining read for its unique plot, it’s hard to ignore how ridiculously inept the police are. And this hurts the story quite a bit.

But there’s still a lot of things to like in this story that it still stands out. The Freddie and Naseer side story gives the right amount of drama, while the main story progresses at a thrilling pace.

Follow Me will appeal to thriller junkies who crave for a clever and inventive murder mystery. ★★★ 4/5


*Review copy provided by NetGalley